Be Still My Soul

  
I love traditional hymns. Maybe it’s a combination of my grandmother’s legacy of faith and the time I served in Bible Study Fellowship, but hymns are definitely one of the things I look for in a church. It’s one of the reasons I sing in my choir: so that I can learn more hymns.

Today, while we wait for the Lent devotions to begin on SheReadsTruth, I revisited an old devotion from one of its Hymns series. I woke up from anxious dreams, and I knew I needed to sing Be Still My Soul. He who can calm stormy waters, pacify the crazed, the possessed and the grief-stricken, can ease my anxiously waiting heart. And as I sang through this hymn, written by Katharina von Schlegel in 1752 (translated by Jane L. Borthwick in 1855), He did more than still my soul. He spoke to my broken heart (which I had pretty much ignored since just before Christmas because I got so busy with preparations for the big move that I am now waiting for), and told me that not only will I be ok but that He would repay what I had lost. Ohh. I had to stop singing because I was so struck by these words that I..um…had to cry:

Be still, my soul: when dearest friends depart,

And all is darkened in the vale of tears,

Then shalt thou better know His love, His heart,

Who comes to soothe thy sorrow and thy fears.

Be still, my soul: thy Jesus can repay

From His own fullness all He takes away.

That unexpected verse followed this one that I had wanted:

Be still, my soul: thy God doth undertake

To guide the future, as He has the past.

Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake;

All now mysterious shall be bright at last.

Be still, my soul: the waves and winds still know

His voice Who ruled them while He dwelt below.
You can find the entire hymn here: http://shereadstruth.com/2015/11/11/be-still-my-soul/

Leave a Reply

