Arise, my soul, arise

I was going to write this post titled Lady in waiting, and I absolutely still feel that way, but this song we are rehearsing in choir for Easter Sunday is so beautifully uplifting that I forget my circumstances and psychological state when I sing or hear it. How apt (ironic?) that the song is sung by a girls choir, who are so young and full of excitement for what their bright futures hold.

In the spirit of Lent, and of waiting (although I am now waiting for a totally different thing altogether) I must confess that a few years ago I got tired of waiting. I jumped the gun, like Abraham and Sarah did when they decided that perhaps God’s promised heir could be born of Hagar, Sarah’s handmaiden. And while my actions will not affect the future of nations and faiths, they did lead to heartbreak.

How does one stay hopeful when the waiting seems like it’s taking forever?

That short period of time between “It is finished” and the sunrise of the third day, when you know there is a promise and you hope for what is promised, but everything just screams that it’s not going to happen – “shake off your guilty fears”.

Oh, of course my personal drama is nothing as earth-shaking, but this song! What a lovely reminder.

Arise, my soul, arise,

Shake off thy guilty fears:

The bleeding Sacrifice in my behalf appears:

Before the Throne, my Surety stands.

My name is written on His hands.

Five bleeding wounds He bears,

Received on Calvary,

They pour effectual prayers, they strongly plead for me:

“Forgive him, O, forgive,” they cry.

“Nor let that ransomed sinner die.”

My God is reconciled,

His pard’ning voice I hear;

He owns me for His child, I can no longer fear;

With confidence I now draw nigh,

And “Father, Abba, Father,” cry.

Arise, my soul, arise!

(Arise, My Soul, Arise by Dan Forrest)

Leave a Reply

