Where is the love?

I planned to write this last night, but laziness got the best of me. Or maybe not. Suddenly it’s more poignant to ask, in light of the news of yet another bombing that we woke up to this morning – this one much closer to home. Where is the love?

My third week of Hymns on She Reads Truth began with a reminder of God’s Amazing Grace, and how Great is Thy Faithfulness. On Wednesday, I was chastised to examine what my heart has its sights set on (Be Thou My Vision). Ah but Thursday and Friday I rejoiced in What Wondrous Love is This; a “love so amazing, so divine [that] demands my soul, my life, my all” (When I Survey the Wondrous Cross).

Where is the love? When I got home on Friday, my social media feed was on fire with the re-release of The Black Eyed Peas’ #whereisthelove. The world asks.

God is love. And yet the world keeps turning away from this Love, keeps denying this Love. But it’s not just the world. We who carry Love’s name, I am ashamed to say, often fail to demonstrate to the world the wondrous love and amazing grace we have been given. Sometimes, we’re even more un-gracious and unloving. Where is the love? I am humbled and called by a wondrous, amazing Love to be His hands and feet to a world that is broken right now, even as I struggle with letting Him mend my brokenness. And so I pray that I – we – can love with His Love.

Leave a Reply

