Daddy’s girl

Joshua 15:19 NIV[19] She replied, “Do me a special favor. Since you have given me land in the Negev, give me also springs of water.” So Caleb gave her the upper and lower springs.

If your father, even in his old age, was known as the man who conquered the land of giants,  I bet it would have been hard finding a match worthy of his esteem. Brave, wise Caleb knew that, so he hatched a plan to find his daughter Aksah a husband who was as cunning and courageous as he.

Can I tell you something? My dad chose my prom date. And that did not go well. Although maybe that was according to his plan; it put me off high school boys. Ah the cleverness of fathers.

Well. It turned out that Aksah was as headstrong and bold as her father (can you imagine how Caleb’s wife must have laughed at him when Aksah came charging on her donkey to demand of her father, “give me springs of water”?). She must have seen, as she was growing up, what fearlessness can get you. She saw it first-hand from her dad.

You may not have a dad like Caleb, but we all have a Heavenly Father whose example we can look to. To be honest, it’s a challenge I have to remind myself of: I carry my Father’s name; how will the world see Him though me? 

Leave a Reply

